Sibelius And Brahms Event DatesSun 22 Aug 2021 West Australian Symphony Orchestra

Sibelius And Brahms


Drama and lyricism by two of the greats.

Sibelius’ concerto begins with one of the most captivating openings in the repertoire. In the hands of one of Australia’s finest young violinists, Grace Clifford, a beguiling calmness and energetic virtuosity will shine a new light on this mighty concerto. Then prepare for an edge of your seat symphony with Brahms’ First. From its pounding timpani introduction to a blazing conclusion, this is one of the greatest ‘firsts’ made unforgettable under the baton of Asher Fisch.

Find out more about the music in the concert with an informal pre-concert talk by WASO’s Artistic Planning Manager Alan Tyrrell. The pre-concert talk will take place at 5.20pm.

Gabriel Fauré Pavane

Jean Sibelius Violin Concerto

Johannes Brahms Symphony No.1

Asher Fisch conductor

Grace Clifford violin

Asher Fisch appears courtesy of Wesfarmers Arts.

Duration 1 Hour 40 Min. 20 Min. Interval
Sibelius And Brahms